Skip to main content
Honorary doctorate recipient

Mallikarjun Tatipamula

Doctor of Science (DSc), 2024
For his major role in developing mobile technologies

A trailblazer in the telecommunications industry, Mallik Tatipamula’s contributions have resulted in major advances and new directions. 

Through successive leadership positions at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Madras, Nortel Networks, Motorola, Cisco, Juniper Networks and F5 Networks, Tatipamula helped translate innovations into standards and technology developments in the journey from narrow-band voice-centric 2G networks, through the broadband 4G networks that enabled the application economy on smartphones, to today’s 5G networks that support Industry 4.0 applications. 

Today, as chief technology officer at Ericsson Silicon Valley, he drives Ericsson’s thought leadership and early 6G research efforts. He has been a staunch supporter of industry-academia collaborations and public-private partnerships, stressing the importance of a unified approach for accelerating technological advancements. 

A visiting professor at King’s College London, distinguished visiting professor at IIT Hyderabad, and honorary professor at the University of Glasgow, Tatipamula also serves on several academic advisory boards. He has mentored more than 100 university students to become next-generation leaders and is a frequent guest lecturer at the world’s leading universities.

Tatipamula has co-authored two books, has more than 100 publications and patents, delivered over 500 keynote addresses, and has served on more than 40 conference committees for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

His many awards include Chief Technical Officer of the Year from both the World Communication Awards and the Silicon Valley Business Journal, as well as the IEEE Communications Society Distinguished Industry Leader Award. He is an elected fellow of three national academies: the UK’s Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng), the Royal Society of Edinburgh (FRSE) and the Canadian Academy of Engineering (FCAE).

Wednesday, June 5, 2024 - Gina Cody School of Engineering and Computer Science (10am ceremony)

Back to top

© Concordia University