Concordia University

http://www.concordia.ca/content/concordia/en/events/academic-dates.html

Academic dates

Fall Term 2018
Non-Standard
Term Dates
Not all courses fall within the standard term dates and deadlines. Please refer to the Term Dates and Deadlines for non-standard dates and deadlines. For financial deadlines please see fee payment deadlines.
November 2018
Thu, Nov. 1 Last day to apply for admission to undergraduate programs — Winter term 2019.
Thu, Nov. 1 Last day to apply for degree transfer — Winter term 2019 (for currently registered students to transfer into the Faculty of Arts and Science or the Gina Cody School of Engineering and Computer Science).
Mon, Nov. 5 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from fall-term courses.
Mon, Nov. 26 Last day for instructor-scheduled tests or examinations.
Mon, Nov. 26 Registration start date for newly authorized Independent students — Winter 2019 term.
December 2018
Sat, Dec. 1 Last day to apply for Quebec resident status for fall term 2018.
Mon, Dec. 3 Last day of classes — Fall term.
Tue, Dec. 4 Make-up day for classes scheduled on Monday, October 8.
Wed, Dec. 5 Examinations begin.
Wed, Dec. 19 Examinations end.
Fri, Dec. 21 Aide financière aux études (AFE) end of funding for fall term.
Mon, Dec. 24 Holiday period — University closed. (Monday, December 24, 2018 to Wednesday, January 2, 2019)
 
Winter Term 2019
Non-Standard
Term Dates
Not all courses fall within the standard term dates and deadlines. Please refer to the Term Dates and Deadlines for non-standard dates and deadlines. For financial deadlines please see fee payment deadlines.
January 2019
Mon, Jan. 7 Classes begin — Winter term 2019.
Mon, Jan. 7 Classes resume — Fall/winter term 2018‑19.
Tue, Jan. 15 Last day to apply for spring 2019 graduation.
Tue, Jan. 15 Last day to apply for DEF (Deferred) or MED (Medical) notation for courses ending in December 2018.
Mon, Jan. 21 Last day to add winter‑term courses.
Mon, Jan. 21 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund (DNE) from winter‑term courses.
February 2019
Fri, Feb. 1 Last day to apply for supplemental examinations for courses ending in December 2018 (graduating students only).
Fri, Feb. 1 Last day to apply for re‑evaluation of courses ending in December 2018.
Fri, Feb. 1 Last day to apply for late completion of courses ending in December 2018.
Fri, Feb. 15 Last day for submission of late‑completion work for courses ending in December 2018 (application deadline February 1).
Mon, Feb. 25 Mid‑term break begins.
Mon, Feb. 25 Replacement examinations begin.
Mon, Feb. 25 Supplemental examinations begin for courses ending in December 2018 (graduating students only)
Thu, Feb. 28 Replacement and supplemental examinations end.
March 2019
Fri, Mar. 1 Last day to apply for admission to undergraduate programs — Full‑time regular session 2019‑20.
Fri, Mar. 1 Last day to apply for degree transfer — Fall term 2019 (for currently registered students to transfer into a different degree in any Faculty).
Fri, Mar. 1 President’s Holiday — University closed.
Sun, Mar. 3 Mid‑term break ends.
Mon, Mar. 11 Registration start date for students with 0 to 9 credits to completion and for co‑op students — Regular and summer sessions 2019‑20.
Tue, Mar. 12 Registration start date for students with 10 to 21 credits to completion — Regular and summer sessions 2019‑20.
Wed, Mar. 13 Registration start date for students with 22 to 33 credits to completion — Regular and summer sessions 2019‑20.
Thu, Mar. 14 Registration start date for students with 34 to 42 credits to completion — Regular and summer sessions 2019‑20.
Fri, Mar. 15 Registration start date for students with 43 to 54 credits to completion — Regular and summer sessions 2019‑20.
Mon, Mar. 18 Registration start date for students with 55 to 63 credits to completion — Regular and summer sessions 2019‑20.
Mon, Mar. 18 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from two‑term and winter‑term courses.
Tue, Mar. 19 Registration start date for students with 64 to 72 credits to completion — Regular and summer sessions 2019‑20.
Wed, Mar. 20 Registration start date for students with 73 to 87 credits to completion — Regular and summer sessions 2019‑20.
Thu, Mar. 21 Registration start date for students with 88 and more credits to completion — Regular and summer sessions 2019‑20.
Fri, Mar. 22 Registration start date for Visiting students and for returning and newly authorized Independent students — Summer session 2019.
April 2019
Mon, Apr. 1 Last day to apply for Quebec resident status for winter term 2019.
Sat, Apr. 6 Last day for instructor‑scheduled tests or examinations.
Sat, Apr. 13 Last day of classes — Fall/winter and winter terms 2018‑19.
Tue, Apr. 16 Examinations begin.
Thu, Apr. 18 Registration start date for Visiting students and for newly admitted undergraduate students — Regular session 2019‑20. Students admitted for September 2019 should register for winter‑term courses at the same time as fall‑term courses.
Fri, Apr. 19 University closed.
Sat, Apr. 20 University closed.
Sun, Apr. 21 University closed.
Mon, Apr. 22 University closed.
Tue, Apr. 30 Aide financière aux études (AFE) end of funding for winter term.
 
Summer Term 2019
Non-Standard
Term Dates
Not all courses fall within the standard term dates and deadlines. Please refer to the Term Dates and Deadlines for non-standard dates and deadlines. For financial deadlines please see fee payment deadlines.
May 2019
Sun, May 5 Examinations end.
Mon, May 6 Classes begin — First‑term and two‑term summer session courses.
Fri, May 10 Last day to apply for DEF (Deferred) or MED (Medical) notation for courses ending in April 2019.
Mon, May 13 Last day to add first‑term and two‑term summer session courses.
Mon, May 13 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund (DNE) from first‑term and two‑term summer session courses.
Wed, May 15 Last day to apply for late completion of courses ending in April 2019.
Mon, May 20 Journée nationale des patriotes (Quebec), Victoria Day (elsewhere in Canada) — University closed.
Thu, May 30 Last day for submission of late‑completion work for courses ending in April 2019 (application deadline May 15).
June 2019
Mon, June 3 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from first‑term summer session courses.
Sat, June 15 Last day to apply for supplemental examinations for courses taken during the regular session 2018‑19.
Sat, June 15 Last day to apply for re‑evaluation of courses ending in April 2019.
Wed, June 19 Last day of classes — First‑term summer session.
Thu, June 20 Examinations begin — First‑term summer session finals.
Thu, June 20 Mid‑term break for two‑term summer session begins.
Mon, June 24 Fête nationale — University closed.
Tue, June 25 Examinations end — First‑term summer session finals.
Tue, June 25 Mid‑term break for two‑term summer session ends.
Wed, June 26 Classes begin — Second‑term summer session and special three‑ or six‑week summer session.
July 2019
Mon, July 1 Canada Day — University closed.
Wed, July 3 Last day to add second‑term summer session courses and first‑term special three‑ or six‑week summer session courses.
Wed, July 3 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund (DNE) from second‑term summer session and first‑term special three‑ or six‑week summer session courses.
Tue, July 9 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from first‑term special three‑week summer session courses.
Mon, July 15 Last day to apply for fall 2019 graduation.
Mon, July 15 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from two‑term summer session courses.
Wed, July 17 Last day of classes — First‑term special three‑week summer session.
Thu, July 18 Classes begin — Second‑term special three‑week summer session.
Mon, July 22 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from special six‑week summer session courses.
Wed, July 24 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from second‑term summer session courses.
Thu, July 25 Last day to register for second‑term special three‑week summer session courses.
Thu, July 25 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund (DNE) from second‑term special three‑week summer session courses.
Tue, July 30 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from second‑term special three‑week summer session courses.
August 2019
Thu, Aug. 1 Last day to apply for Quebec resident status for summer session 2019.
Thu, Aug. 1 Registration start date for returning and newly authorized Independent students — Fall 2019 term.
Wed, Aug. 7 Last day of classes — Special six‑week and second‑term special three‑week summer session courses.
Mon, Aug. 12 Last day of classes — Two‑term and second‑term summer session courses.
Tue, Aug. 13 Make‑up day for classes scheduled Monday only during two‑term summer session.
Wed, Aug. 14 Examinations begin — Two‑term and second‑term summer session finals.
Mon, Aug. 19 Examinations end — Two‑term and second‑term summer session finals.
Tue, Aug. 20 Replacement and supplemental examinations begin — Regular session 2018‑19.
Sat, Aug. 24 Replacement and supplemental examinations end — Regular session 2018‑19.
Sat, Aug. 31 Last day to apply for DEF (Deferred) or MED (Medical) notation for courses taken during the summer session 2019.
 
Fall Term 2019
Non-Standard
Term Dates
Not all courses fall within the standard term dates and deadlines. Please refer to the Term Dates and Deadlines for non-standard dates and deadlines. For financial deadlines please see fee payment deadlines.
September 2019
Sun, Sep. 1 Last day to apply for late completion of courses taken during the summer session 2019.
Mon, Sep. 2 Labour Day — University closed.
Tue, Sep. 3 Classes begin — Fall and fall/winter terms 2019-20.
Mon, Sep. 9 Registration start date for newly admitted students — Winter 2020 term. New students admitted for winter 2020 can register any time after admission and advising criteria have been satisfied.
Sun, Sep. 15 Last day for submission of late‑completion work for summer session 2019 courses (application deadline September 1).
Mon, Sep. 16 Last day to apply for supplemental examinations for courses taken during the summer session 2019.
Mon, Sep. 16 Last day to add fall‑term and two‑term courses.
Mon, Sep. 16 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund (DNE) from fall‑term and two‑term courses.
October 2019
Tue, Oct. 1 Last day to apply for re‑evaluation of courses taken during the summer session 2019.
Sat, Oct. 5 Replacement and supplemental examinations — Summer session 2019 courses.
Mon, Oct. 14 Thanksgiving Day — University closed (see December 3, 2019).
November 2019
Fri, Nov. 1 Last day to apply for admission to undergraduate programs — Winter term 2020.
Fri, Nov. 1 Last day to apply for degree transfer — Winter term 2020 (for currently registered students to transfer into the Faculty of Arts and Science or the Gina Cody School of Engineering and Computer Science).
Mon, Nov. 4 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from fall‑term courses.
Mon, Nov. 25 Last day for instructor‑scheduled tests or examinations.
Mon, Nov. 25 Registration start date for newly authorized Independent students — Winter 2020 term.
December 2019
Sun, Dec. 1 Last day to apply for Quebec resident status for fall term 2019.
Mon, Dec. 2 Last day of classes — Fall term.
Tue, Dec. 3 Make‑up day for classes scheduled on Monday, October 14.
Thu, Dec. 5 Examinations begin.
Thu, Dec. 19 Examinations end.
Thu, Dec. 19 Aide financière aux études (AFE) end of funding for fall term.
Mon, Dec. 23 Holiday period — University closed. (December 23 to January 5)
 
Winter Term 2020
Non-Standard
Term Dates
Not all courses fall within the standard term dates and deadlines. Please refer to Term Dates and Deadlines for non-standard dates and deadlines. For financial deadlines please see fee payment deadlines.
January 2020
Mon, Jan. 6 Classes begin — Winter term 2020.
Mon, Jan. 6 Classes resume — Fall/winter term 2019‑20.
Wed, Jan. 15 Last day to apply for spring 2020 graduation.
Wed, Jan. 15 Last day to apply for DEF (Deferred) or MED (Medical) notation for courses ending in December 2019.
Mon, Jan. 20 Last day to add winter‑term courses.
Mon, Jan. 20 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund (DNE) from winter‑term courses.
February 2020
Sat, Feb. 1 Last day to apply for supplemental examinations for courses ending in December 2019 (graduating students only).
Sat, Feb. 1 Last day to apply for re‑evaluation of courses ending in December 2019.
Sat, Feb. 1 Last day to apply for late completion of courses ending in December 2019.
Sat, Feb. 15 Last day for submission of late‑completion work for courses ending in December 2019 (application deadline February 1).
Mon, Feb. 24 Mid‑term break begins.
Mon, Feb. 24 Replacement examinations begin.
Mon, Feb. 24 Supplemental examinations begin for courses ending in December 2019 (graduating students only)
Thu, Feb. 27 Replacement and supplemental examinations end.
Fri, Feb. 28 President’s Holiday — University closed.
March 2020
Sun, Mar. 1 Mid‑term break ends.
Mon, Mar. 2 Last day to apply for admission to undergraduate programs — Full‑time regular session 2020‑21.
Mon, Mar. 2 Last day to apply for degree transfer — Fall term 2020 (for currently registered students to transfer into a different degree in any Faculty).
Mon, Mar. 23 Last day for academic withdrawal (DISC) from two‑term and winter‑term courses.
April 2020
Wed, Apr. 1 Last day to apply for Quebec resident status for winter term 2020.
Thu, Apr. 2 Last day for instructor‑scheduled tests or examinations.
Thu, Apr. 9 Last day of classes — Fall/winter and winter terms 2019‑20.
Fri, Apr. 10 University closed (see April 14, 2020).
Sat, Apr. 11 University closed (see April 14, 2020).
Sun, Apr. 12 University closed.
Mon, Apr. 13 University closed.
Tue, Apr. 14 Make‑up day for classes scheduled on April 10 and 11.
Thu, Apr. 16 Examinations begin.
Thu, Apr. 30 Aide financière aux études (AFE) end of funding for winter term.
 
Summer Term 2020
Non-Standard
Term Dates
Not all courses fall within the standard term dates and deadlines. Please refer to Term Dates and Deadlines for non-standard dates and deadlines. For financial deadlines please see fee payment deadlines.
May 2020
Sun, May 3 Examinations end.
Sun, May 10 Last day to apply for DEF (Deferred) or MED (Medical) notation for courses ending in April 2020.
Fri, May 15 Last day to apply for late completion of courses ending in April 2020.
Mon, May 18 Journée nationale des patriotes (Quebec), Victoria Day (elsewhere in Canada) — University closed.
Sat, May 30 Last day for submission of late‑completion work for courses ending in April 2020 (application deadline May 15).
June 2020
Mon, June 15 Last day to apply for supplemental examinations for courses taken during the regular session 2019‑20.
Mon, June 15 Last day to apply for re‑evaluation of courses ending in April 2020.
 
Fall Term 2018
Fall/Winter Registration Refer to the Graduate Registration Guide or consult your Graduate Program Director for exact dates of registration and for academic advice.
November 2018
Mon, Nov. 5 Last day for academic withdrawal from Fall-term courses (/2 DISC)
Mon, Nov. 5 Last day for Master's and PhD students to withdraw from their program with /3 courses
Students must DISC any /3 courses by this date, and withdraw from their program by the winter DNE deadline (/4 DNE) to avoid being charged for the winter term
Mon, Nov. 19 Fall Convocations
Mon, Nov. 26 Last day for instructor-scheduled tests or examinations
December 2018
Sat, Dec. 1 Last day to apply for Quebec Resident status for Fall Term 2018
Mon, Dec. 3 Last day of classes, Fall Term
Tue, Dec. 4 Make-up day for classes scheduled on Monday, October 8
Wed, Dec. 5 Examinations begin
Wed, Dec. 19 Examinations end
Mon, Dec. 24
to Thu, Jan. 3
Holiday period, University closed
Winter Term 2019
Winter Registration Refer to the Graduate Registration Guide or consult your Graduate Program Director for exact dates of registration and for academic advice.
January 2019
Mon, Jan. 7 Classes begin, Winter Term
Mon, Jan. 7 Late registration and course change period begins
Students incur a late registration fee when they register on or after the date that classes officially begin across the University
Tue, Jan. 15 Last day for students to apply for Spring graduation
Mon, Jan. 21 Last day to add Winter-term courses (/4)
Mon, Jan. 21 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund* from Winter-term courses (/4 DNE)
Mon, Jan. 21 Deadline for withdrawal from program for Winter Session
Mon, Jan. 21 In Progress deadline to submit coursework to professors for Fall 2018 courses
February 2019
Fri, Feb. 1 Last day to apply for re-evaluation of courses ending in December 2018 (/2)
Mon, Feb. 11 Last day for initial doctoral thesis submission to the Thesis Office for students who have applied for Spring graduation
Mon, Feb. 25 Mid-term break begins
March 2019
Fri, Mar. 1 Concordia President's Holiday, University closed
Sun, Mar. 3 Mid-term break ends
Mon, Mar. 4 Deadline to submit electronic Master thesis to department for Spring convocation; consult with your department
Mon, Mar. 18 Last day for academic withdrawal from two-term (/3 DISC) Winter-term (/4 DISC) courses
April 2019
Mon, Apr. 1 Last day to apply for Quebec Resident status for Winter term 2019
Mon, Apr. 1 Last day for final electronic submission of thesis through Spectrum, the Concordia Repository for students who are graduating in the Spring Term
Sat, Apr. 6 Last day for instructor‑scheduled tests or examinations
Sat, Apr. 13 Last day of classes, Winter Term
Tue, Apr. 16 Examinations begin
Fri, Apr. 19 University closed
Sat, Apr. 20 University closed
Sun, Apr. 21 University closed
Mon, Apr. 22 University closed
May 2019
Sun, May 5 Examinations end
Mon, May 20 Victoria Day, University Closed
June 2019
TBA Spring Convocations
Sat, Jun. 15 Last day to apply for re-evaluation of courses ending in April 2019 (/3 and /4)
Mon, Jun. 24 Fête Nationale, University closed
July 2019
Mon, Jul. 1 Canada Day, University closed
Sat, Jul. 14 Last day for initial doctoral thesis submission to the Thesis Office for students who have applied for Fall graduation
August 2019
Sun, Aug 4 Deadline to submit electronic Master thesis to department for Spring convocation; consult with your department

* Tuition refund only applies to diploma, certificate, independent, visiting, and qualifying programs.

Back to top

© Concordia University