Skip to main content

Dr David Douglas

Part-time Professor, Cinema

Office: S-FB 334  
Faubourg Building,
1250 Guy
Phone: (514) 848-2424 ext. 4336

Dr. David Douglas has taught in the School of cinema since 1990. His principle areas of teaching are early film history, Cuban cinema and Canadian cinema. He has also taught a number of courses on the business, politics and ideology of the American film industry. Other courses of instruction have included, World Cinema(s), Bollywood, Film Theory, and the Musical. He is a contributor to South American Cinema: A Critical Filmography 1915-94 (U. of Texas Press, 1996) and Guide to the Cinemas of Canada (2001). He has also published in the Canadian Journal of Film Studies and Cinema Canada.

As creator of the Pioneers in Independent Canadian Cinema Project, he has been responsible for the restoration and dvd release of Larry Kent's The Bitter Ash (1963), Sweet Substitute (1964), When Tomorrow Dies (1965) and High (1976), along with Clarke Mackey's The Only Thing You Know (1971) and Frank Vitale's Montreal Main (1974).

Since 2007, Dr. Douglas has been a regular Visiting Professor, teaching Avant-garde Cinema, at the 
Escuela Internacional de Cine y Television in San Antonio de los Baños, Cuba. He has also taught in the Altos Estudios program of the EICTV. Dr. Douglas is a past Chair of the Canadian Filmmakers Distribution Centre and past Vice-president of the Film Studies Association of Canada (2009 - 2011).


PhD (Northwestern University)

Research interests

Film history, Canadian cinema, Cuban cinema, world cinemas, film and politics, avant-garde & Independent cinemas, Larry Kent.

Teaching activities

Fmst 201 Film History I (2020- 2022)

Fmst 202 Film History II (2021 - 2022)

Fmst 203 Film History III (2021)

FFAR Special Topics in Fine Arts: Censorship (2019 - 2022)

Fmst 211/3 Film History to 1959 (1997 - 2019)

Fmst 418 Seminar in Canadian Cinema (Fall 2021)

Participation activities

Fine Arts Faculty Council (2016 - 2024)

Fine Arts Faculty Council, Steering Committee (2016 - 2018) (2019 - 2024)

President's Search Committee (2013)

Provost Search Committee (2014, 2016)

Dean of Fine Arts Search Committee (2015)

Senator, Fine Arts (2009 - 2016)

Senate Steering Committee (2011 - 2014)

Senate APPC (2013 - 2014)

Area Head, Undergraduate Film Studies (Jan - June 2004)

School of Cinema

School of Cinema, Steering Committee

School of Cinema Admissions Committee

Chair Search Committee, (1996, 2000, 2004, 2018, 2021)

Visiting Lecturer's Committee (1996 - 1997)

Part-time Representative, Film Studies (1994 - present)

School of Cinema Curriculum Committee (2000 - present)

Student Awards Committee (1997 - present)

Film Studies Search Committees (1997, 2003)

MFA Jury

President, CUPFA (2013 - 2017)

Back to top

© Concordia University