Skip to main content

Faculty Council

Mandate of the Arts and Science Faculty Council

The purview of Faculty Council differs from, but is complementary to, the administrative and governance functions of the Office of the Dean, which is responsible for setting academic priorities within the Faculty of Arts and Science and managing the Faculty in accordance with Collective Agreements and other University policies. Faculty Council is also the body within the Faculty of Arts and Science that is responsible for making recommendations on academic matters to Senate.

In setting academic policies for the Faculty of Arts and Science, Faculty Council is obliged to conform to criteria and guidelines established by Senate. This does not preclude Council from seeking the authorization of Senate to implement more stringent policies or requirements within the Faculty.

Chair (votes only in the event of a tie)
Dr. P. Sicotte Dean and Chair
Secretary and Recording Secretary (non-voting)
Ms. L. Nadarajah     Senior Administrative Officer to the Dean (Secretary)
Ms. J. Muir Executive Secretary to the Dean (Recording Secretary)
Ex-officio (voting)
Dr. G.Carr President and Vice-Chancellor (interim)
Dr. A. Whitelaw Provost and Vice-President, Academic Affairs (interim)
Dr. P. Wood-Adams Vice-President, Research & Graduate Studies (interim)
Dr. C. De Wolf Vice-Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
Dr. P. Caignon Associate Dean, Student Academic Services
Dr. J. Didur Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
Dr. R. Courtemanche Associate Dean, Academic Programs
Dr. F. Scala Associate Dean, Graduate Studies
Dr. P. Leroux Associate Dean, Research
Dr. J. Capobianco Associate Dean, Planning & Academic Facilities
Voting members
Full-time faculty member from each Department and College
Dr. P. Morden Applied Human Sciences
Dr. S. Dayanandan Biology  
Dr. G. O hAllmhurain School of Irish Studies
Dr. P. Joyce Chemistry and Biochemistry 
Dr. M. Kissock Classics, Modern Languages and Linguistics
Dr. M. Gagnon Communication Studies
Dr. J. Hansen Economics
Dr. J. Capobianco Education
Dr. S. Yeager English
Dr. F. Naudillon Études françaises
Dr. V. Pepin Health, Kinesiology & Applied Physiology
Dr. C. Townsend Geography, Planning and Environment
Dr. G. Taylor History
Dr. D. Secko Journalism
Dr. J. Carty Liberal Arts College
Dr. J. Grant Loyola College for Diversity and Sustainability
Dr. C. Hyndman Mathematics and Statistics
Dr. E. Angelova Philosophy
Dr. V. Zazubovits Physics
Dr. E. Bloodgood Political Science
Dr. A. Johnson Psychology
Dr. N. Cohn Religions & Cultures
Dr. A. Sheftel School of Community and Public Affairs
Dr. E. Despland Science College
Dr. C. Cambre Simone de Beauvoir Institute
Dr. A. Swiffen Sociology and Anthropology
Dr. M-F Dion Theological Studies
Part-time faculty
Scott Chlopan Education
Kathleen MacDonald Classics, Modern Languages and Linguistics
Undergraduate students
Amine Ben Arous ASFA
Alyssa Chagnon ASFA
Lily Charette ASFA

Megane Masse


Clodelle McKay-Hamelin


Elyse Moisan

Graduate Students
Rajrupa Saha GSA
Cassandra Gratton GSA
Non-voting members
Ms. P. Riva University Librarian or Delegate

Ms. I. Kraulis

Registrar or Delegate
Rachel Berger, Peter Pawelek or Mamoun Medraj Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or Delegate
Elisabeth Faure or Taylor Tower Chief Communications Officer or Delegate
Dr. M. Sharma John Molson School of Business
Dr. B. Caron Engineering and Computer Science

Ms. S. Baptiste-Brown

Institute for Co-operative Education
Mr. D. Linetsky Principal, Director of Development, Arts and Science
Ms. E. De Martinis
Senior Financial Chief Officer, Arts and Science
Ms. I. Lacelle Senior Director of Strategic Development and Faculty Operations
Back to top

© Concordia University