

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Arts and Science Faculty Council

Minutes of the meeting held on Friday, April 14, 2023

Present: C. DeWolf, J. Muir, E. Angelova, R. Berger, B. Best, E. Bloodgood, P. Caignon, S. Carliner, J. Carty, S. Chlopan, N. Cohn, R. Courtemanche, S. Dayanandan, S. De Celles, M-F. Dion, E. Faure, M. Gagnon, J. Grant, J. Hansen, R. Hopp, A. Hunter, C. Hyndman, K. Irvine, A. Johnson, G-A. Jones, P. Joyce, I. Lacelle, P. Leroux, K. MacDonald, K. Manning, S. Menard, D. Meneksedag Erol, F. Naudillon, B. Nelson, G. O hAllmhurain, V. Pepin, M. Rivosecchi, A. Rowley, A. Ryder, D. Salee, F. Scala, A. Sheftel, C. Townsend, S. Yeager, V. Zazubovits

Regrets: P. Sicotte, L. Tran, D. Berube, L. Boudreau, G. Carr, E. De Martinis, E. Despland, K. Geers, S. Guy, J. Koonings, M. Sharma, A. Weinstein-Wright, A. Whitelaw, C. Zananiri,

Guest: N. Freeman

Documents Circulated and/or Considered at the Meeting

ASFC 2023-3M	Minutes of the meeting held on March 10, 2023
ASFC 2023-3M-A	Elections Ratifications
ASFC 2023-3M-B	Reports
ASFC-2023-3M-C	Department of Mathematics and Statistics, AS-MATH-4701
ASFC-2023-3M-D	Department of Physics, AS-PHYS-5246
ASFC-2023-3M-E	Department of Theology, AS-THEO-5288

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called by C. DeWolf at 10:01 am

2. Territorial Acknowledgement

C. DeWolf stated the territorial acknowledgement

3. Approval of the Agenda

ASFC 2023-3M-1 It was moved and seconded that the agenda be approved.

Carried, unanimously

4. Approval of the Minutes of the meeting held Friday, March 10, 2023

ASFC 2023-3M-2 It was moved and seconded that the minutes be approved. **Carried, unanimously**

5. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was none.

6. Remarks of the Chair

C. DeWolf mentioned the two important messages which were sent regarding faculty hiring. One was about an exceptional change agreed upon with CUFA that will allow 3rd year LTAs to apply for open LTA positions without the normal two year wait. The call for tenure-track proposals has been received from the Provost's office however the ETA call has not yet come and the CRC proposals are under review. We do not know the number of tenure-track positions the Faculty will receive so that is why departments were asked to submit only one proposal.

C. DeWolf brought up the fact that the next few years won't be easy in regards to budget as the number of CEGEP students is expected to decline. The Faculty is anticipating the academic budget will remain the same next year. We must all remain fiscally responsible for the next year. Departments need to work on converting as many acceptance letters to registrations as possible.

C. DeWolf reminded everyone in attendance that we are in the middle of the election period and chairs are asked to encourage new and junior faculty to join committees.

C. DeWolf announced that Timothy Dye will be the new School of Health Dean and thanks everyone in the Faculty who served on the search committee. She also mentioned that the reason Pascale was not present was because she was attending the Concordia press release announcing the launch of PLAN/NET- ZERO. Concordia's bold new climate plan in which the University sets its goal of carbon neutrality before 2040.

7. Question Period

Topics such as course reserves, new hires being given a 3-credit course remission to learn French, budgets, ETA call and LTA announcement were discussed.

8. Consent Agenda

Reports, ASFC-2023-3M-B
 Isabelle Lacelle, Director, Office of the Dean
 Enza De Martinis, Senior Faculty Financial Officer
 Jean Stutsman, Principal Director Development, FAS

b. Undergraduate Curriculum

Department of Mathematics and Statistics, AS-MATH-4701, ASFC-2023-3M-C Department of Physics, AS-PHYS-5246, ASFC-2023-3M-D Department of Theology, AS-THEO-5288, ASFC-2023-3M-E

ASFC 2023-3M-3 It was moved and seconded that the documents be approved.

Carried, unanimously

9. Elections Ratifications, ASFC-2023-3M-A

This item was removed from the consent agenda and a brief discussion ensued in regards to the nominations for the Faculty Personnel and Tenure Committee (FPTC). All faculty members on this committee should be tenured.

ASFC-2023-3M-4 It was moved and seconded that this item be approved with the omission of the FPTC committee.

Carried, unanimously

10. Other Business

There was none.

11. Notices of Motion

There was none.

12. Next Meeting

The next meeting of Faculty Council will be held on Friday, May 12th at Loyola.

13. Adjournment to the closed session

ASFC 2023-3M-5 It was moved and seconded that the open session be adjourned at 10:37am

Carried, unanimously