Concordia University

https://www.concordia.ca/content/concordia/en/academics/co-op/important-dates.html

Important dates

2019 Fall Internship

  • Start & End Date: Tuesday, September 3 2019 - Friday, December 20, 2019
  • Work term reflective learning due: Monday, December 2, 2019

 

Confused about some terms? Scroll down for the Index.

Calendar_icon

2019/2020
Activity Schedule

Winter Work Term (January to April 2020) Summer Work Term (May to August 2020)  Fall Work Term (September to December 2020)

Earliest start date

Latest end date

Monday Jan. 6 2020

Friday May 1 2020

Monday, May 4, 2020

Friday, August 28, 2020

Tuesday, September 8, 2020

Friday, December 18, 2020

First round

  • Posting period
  • Application period
  • Interviews

 

  • Tuesday Sept. 3 - Friday Oct. 4 2019
  • Thursday Sept. 5 - Sunday Oct. 6 2019
  • Monday Sept. 23 - Friday Oct. 11 2019

 

  • Monday Dec. 16 - Friday Jan. 31 2020
  • Monday Jan. 6 - Sunday Feb. 2 2020
  • Monday Jan. 20 - Friday Feb. 7 2020 

 

  • Monday April 27 - Friday May 29 2020
  • Monday May 4 - Sunday May 31 2020
  • Tuesday May 19 - Friday June 5 2020

Ranking deadline

Friday, October 11, 2019 Friday, February 7, 2020 Friday, June 5, 2020

Rank Match Day

Friday, October 18, 2019 Friday, February 14, 2020 Friday, June 12, 2020

Continuous placement starts

Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2019 Wednesday, February 19, 2020 Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Internship Report / Presentation due

Thursday Apr. 9, 2020 (Last day of class for the semester Last day of class for the semester (TBD) Last day of class for the semester (TBD)

Final Evaluations (student & employer)

Last day of student's internship (for each 4 month period) Last day of student's internship (for each 4 month period) Last day of student's internship (for each 4 month period)

INDEX

First Round

First round consists of three specific timelines (Posting period, student application period, and interviewing period). All postings & interviews are to be submitted directly onto Compass by the employers. Once an employer finishes their interviews in first round, they are encouraged to submit rankings for their candidates directly on Compass. First round officially ends on the last day of interviews and results are sent out to employers on Rank Match Day. Any postings, interviews or rankings that are submitted past their respective deadlines, will be carried over to continuous placement (second round). All students have an interview cap of 12 in first round, therefore we encourage employers to post their jobs and schedule their interviews early in the term.

Rankings

Rankings are numerical values given to each candidate by an employer, depending on how the candidate performed in their interviews. Employers can rank a candidate a #1, for every position they have available. Once a #1 has been assigned to a candidate(s), the employer is able to rank as many candidates with a numerical value of 2s, 3s, 4s, etc., as they wish. All rankings must be submitted in numerical order. Students and employers are matched together on “Rank Match Day” through Compass. All rankings are considered job offers, and should an employer/student receive a match, it is considered a binding contract and can not be reneged.  Employers should only rank candidates they are interested in hiring.  

Continuous Placement (Second Round)

In continuous placement, there are no deadlines for postings or interviews. There are also no rankings in continuous placement, instead there are direct offers made. Please be advised that all offers must be sent to coopinstitute@concordia.ca directly and not to the student. Coop institute will send the offer to the students(s), and the student(s) will have 24-48 hours to notify us of there decision. Once Coop Institute receives the student’s response, we will notify the employer. Employers will only receive the student’s contact information once the student accepts the job and is placed in Compass. Please be advised that offers can be extended right after the interviews occur, therefore we encourage employers to schedule interviews early as students are placed quickly in Continuous Placement (second round).

Back to top

© Concordia University