Skip to main content
Workshops & seminars

Social Justice Theory Annual Workshop

Series of annual workshops on social justice theory

Date & time
Enter Start Date Enter Start Time

This event is free


Social Justice Centre


S Annex
2145 Mackay
Room 201

Wheel chair accessible


The aim of the Social Justice Theory Workshop is to enable sustained exploration in the theory of social justice. It addresses topics such as the articulation of ideals and principles of economic, political, gender, race, environmental, and cultural justice; the critique of inequality, domination, exploitation, and alienation; and the illumination of political institutions, practices and processes of transformation that might foster progressive change.

Workshop papers are be pre-circulated, and participation implies a commitment to reading the papers in advance.

This workshop is organised by Pablo Gilabert and Peter Dietsch, in association with the Social Justice Centre (Concordia University), le Centre de Recherche en Éthique (Université de Montréal) and the Department of Philosophy at the University of Victoria.

The 8th edition of this intensive research workshop will take place on June 27-28, 2024. For questions, contact Christiane Bailey (

List of participants in the past workshops so far: 

  • Arash Abizadeh (McGill University)
  • Samuel Arnold (Texas Christian University)
  • Elvira Basevich (University of California, Davis)
  • Jacqueline Best (University of Ottawa)
  • Brookes Brown (University of Toronto)
  • Denise Celentano (Université de Montréal)
  • Amandine Catala (Université du Québéc à Montréal)
  • François Claveau (Université de Sherbrooke)
  • Peter Dietsch (University of Victoria)
  • Markus Furendal (University of Stockholm)
  • Alexandre Gajevic Sayegh (Université Laval)
  • Anca Gheaus (Central European University)
  • Pablo Gilabert (Concordia University)
  • Carol Gould (City University of New York
  • Alex Gourevitch (Brown University)
  • Joseph Heath (University of Toronto)
  • Lisa Herzog (University of Groningen)
  • Louis-Philippe Hodgson (York University)
  • Adam Hosein (Northeastern University)
  • Aaron James (University of California, Irvine)
  • AJ Julius (University of California at Los Angeles)
  • Jan Kandiyali (Durham University)
  • Steven Klein (King’s College, London)
  • Meena Krishnamurthy (Queen’s University)
  • Ben Laurence (University of Chicago)
  • Patti Lenard (University of Ottawa)
  • Dominique Leydet (Universite de Quebec a Montreal)
  • Éliot Litalien (Université de Montréal)
  • Sylvie Loriaux (Université Laval)
  • Suzanne Love (Georgia State University)
  • Colin Macleod (University of Victoria)
  • Dominic Martin (Université du Québéc à Montréal)
  • Åsbjørn Melkevik (Queen’s University)
  • Martin O’Neill (University of York)
  • Katharina Nieswandt (Concordia University)
  • Kristi Olson (Bowdoin College).
  • Vida Panitch (Carleton University)
  • Avia Pasternak (University of Toronto)
  • Will Roberts (McGill University)
  • Ingrid Robeyns (Utrecht University)
  • Miriam Ronzoni (University of Manchester)
  • Julie Rose (Dartmouth College)
  • Juliette Roussin (Laval)
  • Eleni Schirmer (Concordia University)
  • Jules Solomone-Sehr (Centre de Recherche en Ethique).
  • Lucas Stanczyk (Harvard University)
  • Christine Straehle (University of Ottawa)
  • Natalie Stoljar (McGill University)
  • Christine Sypnowich (Queen’s University)
  • Agnes Tam (University of Calgary)
  • Sabine Tsuruda (Queen’s University)
  • Nicholas Vrousalis (Erasmus University)
  • Daniel Weinstock (McGill University)

All dates in this series:

Back to top

© Concordia University