Concordia University



Supporting the next generation of Concordians

Donor and Student Awards Celebration unites benefactors and students at emotional gathering
April 8, 2015
By Scott McCulloch

Concordia’s hard-working students and the generous donors who fund their awards got better acquainted on March 31, 2015, at the Donor and Student Awards Celebration. 

The annual gathering, organized by Advancement and Alumni Relations in partnership with Concordia’s Financial Aid and Awards Office, welcomed 250 guests who took in stirring videos and speeches on the values of philanthropy.

“All of you in this room, our award winners and donors, are Concordia’s leaders into the next generation,” said Concordia President Alan Shepard.

Howard Davidson, BComm 80, president of the R. Howard Webster Foundation, wove a similar narrative. “Everyone has potential given a chance,” he said. “I encourage you to give back so Concordia can move into the future stronger than ever.”

Davidson said the R. Howard Webster Foundation “gives back $5 million a year” to outstanding organizations whose programs improve society.

A beneficiary of such generosity, R. Howard Webster Foundation Doctoral Fellow Lisa Ndejuru thanked Davidson’s philanthropic organization. “In my case, the support I’ve received has meant being able to take a break from my work as a psychotherapist and devote all my energy to my PhD research,” Rwandan-born Ndejuru said.

“A lot of what goes on at Concordia these days is about looking for creative ways to fit together the puzzle piece in new ways,” Ndejuru added. “That’s what I do all day long. It would not be possible without support like yours.”

Bram Freedman, vice-president of Development and External Relations, and Secretary-General, acted as master of ceremonies. Freedman paid tribute to Concordia’s donors and said students “deserved high praise for their accomplishments.”

#CUalumni #CUgiving

Frank Ciampini, BA 72, with five student award recipients. Frank Ciampini, BA 72, with five student award recipients.
Grace Deurn, Elisabeth Labelle and Kelsey Litwin Scholarship recipients Grace Deurn, Elisabeth Labelle and Kelsey Litwin

Back to top Back to top

© Concordia University