Skip to main content


Volt-Age is led by the following team of core researchers who collaborate across disciplines.

Scientific Committee

Andreas Athienitis

Andreas Athienitis, chair of the Scientific Committee and leader of Theme 1

Professor, Building, Civil, and Environmental Engineering, Concordia University

NSERC/Hydro-Québec Industrial Research Chair in Optimized Operation and Energy Efficiency: towards High Performance Buildings

Concordia University Research Chair in Integration of Solar Energy Systems into Buildings and Communities (Tier 1)

Director, Centre for Zero Energy Building Studies

Solar energy, building energy modelling and design, smart buildings

More about Andreas
Jeff Dahn

Jeff Dahn

Professor, Physics and Atmospheric Science, Dalhousie University

Canada Research Chair, NSERC/Tesla Canada Industrial Research Chair

Herzberg Gold Medal and Killam Prize recipient

Energy, lithium-ion batteries, combinatorial and high throughput materials science, advanced battery materials, electrochemistry, energy storage

More about Jeff
Mourad Debbabi

Mourad Debbabi, leader of Platform B

Professor, Concordia Institute for Information Systems Engineering, Concordia University

Dean, Gina Cody School of Engineering and Computer Science

Co-Leader of National Cybersecurity Consortium

Cybersecurity, smart grid security, cyber forensics and vulnerability research

More about Mourad
Ursula Eicker

Ursula Eicker, leader of Theme 2 and Platform C

Professor, Building, Civil, and Environmental Engineering, Concordia University

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Smart, Sustainable and Resilient Communities and Cities

Co-Director of Next-Generation Cities Institute

Sustainable energy technology, district scale energy efficiency in buildings, sustainable energy supply systems

More about Ursula
Christopher Henderson

Alan Fung

Associate Professor, Mechanical, Industrial, and Mechatronics Engineering, Toronto Metropolitan University

Energy efficiency, conservation and management, renewable energies, building integrated energy systems, hybrid energy systems, building HVAC systems and control, net-zero energy buildings and communities

More about Alan
Christopher Henderson

Christopher Henderson

President of Lumos Energy

Founding Executive Director of the Indigenous Clean Energy Social Enterprise

Founder of Delphi Group

Board Chair of the Globe Series

More about Christopher
Pragasen Pillay

Pragasen Pillay, leader of Platform A

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Concordia University

Concordia University Research Chair in Design and Performance of Electric Machines (Tier 1)

Electrified transportation, renewable energy in the urban environment

More about Pragsen
Aphrodite Salas

Aphrodite Salas, co-leader of Theme 3

Professor, Journalism, Concordia University

Member, Centre for Journalism Experimentation (JEX), Concordia University

John Lemieux Faculty Fellow, Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights Studies

Mobile journalism, collaborative journalism with Indigenous communities, the role of journalism schools in reconciliation, journalism education and climate change in a reporting context

More about Aphrodite
Ursula Eicker

Rei Savafi-Naeini

Professor, Computer Science, University of Calgary

NSERC/TELUS Industrial Research Chair in Information Security

AITF Strategic Chair in Information Security

Cryptography, quantum-safe cryptography, information theoretic cryptography, communication and network Security, cloud Security, distributed ledger and smart contracts

More about Rei
Ursula Eicker

Lukas Swan

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Dalhousie University

Director, Renewable Energy Storage Laboratory

Renewable energy (solar, wind, tidal), energy storage and electric vehicles (battery energy storage, electric drive systems and charging infrastructure and management).

More about Lukas
Ursula Eicker

Thomas Walker, co-leader of Theme 3

Professor, Finance, Concordia University

Concordia University Research Chair in Emerging Risk management (Tier 1)

Sustainability and climate change, corporate governance, and risk management

More about Thomas

Advisory Board

  • Norman Hébert, chair of the Advisory Board, executive chair of Groupe Park Avenue
  • Jennifer Bain, associate vice-president of Research and Innovation, Dalhousie University
  • Grégoire Baillargeon, president of BMO Financial Group Quebec and vice chair of BMO Capital Markets
  • Marie Bedard, director of Customer Success & Lion Ecosystem at Lion Electric
  • Dominique Bérubé, vice-president of Research and Graduate Studies, Concordia University
  • Anne-Marie Croteau, dean of the John Molson School of Business, Concordia University
  • Mourad Debbabi, dean of the Gina Cody School of Engineering and Computer Science
  • William Ghali, vice-president of Research, University of Calgary
  • Troy Jerome, president and CEO, SEN’TI Innovations
  • Steven Liss, vice-president of Research and Innovation, Toronto Metropolitan University
  • Madhu Prabha, process lead for Battery Materials at Nouveau Monde Graphite
  • Karim Zaghib, chief executive officer, Volt-Age and professor, Chemical and Materials Engineering, Concordia University
  • Delia Cristea, General Counsel and Secretary at Power Sustainable

Observing members

  • Marco Blouin, directeur général, Direction générale de la Science et des Partenariats, Ministère de l’Économie, de l’Innovation et de l’Énergie du Québec (MEIE)
  • Ivan Soto, Program officer / Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, Government of Canada

Get in touch with the Volt-Age team

Volt-Age is funded by the Canada First Research Excellence Fund (CFREF)

Back to top

© Concordia University