Concordia University

12 outstanding Concordians who inspire us all

COMING SOON: The 2019 Alumni Recognition Awards take place May 2. Register now to join the celebration!
April 8, 2019
By Marta Samuel

Alumni Recognition Awards

A Royal Canadian Air Force pilot, a former chief justice and a women’s empowerment advocate are among this year’s recipients of Alumni Recognition Awards — Concordia’s annual celebration of community achievements.

The event, held on May 2, 2019 at Pointe-à-Caillière Museum, is hosted by the Concordia University Alumni Association and will be emceed by three-time Concordia alumna Mutsumi Takahashi, BA 79, MBA 95, LLD 13, chief news anchor for CTV Montreal News. Takahashi was recently named to the Order of Canada, the country’s highest civilian honour.

Each year, the university calls on the community to nominate students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends of the university who make a difference in their field.

“This year’s recipients lead by example,” says Paul Chesser, BA 94, GrDip 97, vice-president of Advancement at Concordia. “We take pride in these extraordinary Concordians for their contributions to our community and beyond.”

Register now to join the celebration as we recognize Concordia’s finest at the 2019 Alumni Recognition Awards.

Meet our 2019 honorees:

Peter Kruyt, BComm 78
Humberto Santos Award of Merit

Peter Kruyt is senior advisor to Power Corporation of Canada, which he joined in 1981. The former chair of Concordia’s Board of Governors is an active member of the community, supporting Centraide of Greater Montreal and St. Mary’s Hospital, and member of numerous boards, including the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada, Montreal International, and the McGill University Health Centre.

Morton S. Minc, BA 67
John F. Lemieux Medal

Concordia’s first jurist-in-residence, Morton S. Minc, is former chief justice of the Municipal Court of Montreal and has served in the justice system for more than 20 years. His work has supported programs that help offenders dealing with mental-health issues, homelessness and substance abuse. In 2014, he was awarded the Prix de la justice du Québec and in 2018 was inducted into the Order of Canada and the Order of Montreal.

Alan Shepard
Honorary Life Membership

Alan Shepard has been president and vice-chancellor of Concordia since 2012, leading the university community through nine Strategic Directions — the institution’s roadmap guiding its development. Under Shepard’s leadership, initiatives that have distinguished Concordia as a next-generation university include: the Public Scholars Program, Horizon Postdoctoral Fellows Program, Concordia University Press, Indigenous Directions Leadership Group, 4TH SPACE research hub, the university’s Digital Strategy and the Campaign for Concordia: Next-Gen. Now.

Christine C. Lengvari, BSc 72
Benoît Pelland Distinguished Service Award

President and CEO of Lengvari Financial Inc., Christine Lengvari was named one of “50 Women of Influence in Canada’s Life Insurance Industry” in 2014 and was also awarded the Prix de Distinction from the Chambre de la sécurité financière in 2017. Lengvari is involved on various boards and committees at Concordia and in 2017 gave back to her alma mater with a $1-million planned gift.

Vivek Venkatesh, MA 03, PhD 08
Alumnus of the Year

Vivek Venkatesh is the UNESCO Co-Chair in Prevention of Radicalization and Violent Extremism and associate professor in Concordia's Department of Art Education. Venkatesh investigates the psychological, cultural and cognitive factors influencing the design, development and inclusive adoption of digital media in educational and social contexts.

Kenneth M. Brooks, MBA 99
MBA Alumnus of the Year

Kenneth M. Brooks has more than 25 years of experience in mergers and acquisitions as well as restructuring. He is a partner and senior vice-president at Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance. Brooks joined the board of directors of the John Molson School of Business (JMSB) International Case Competition in 2013 and later became its chair, in 2015. In 2016, he became a member of JMSB’s advisory board and in 2018, was appointed to Concordia’s Board of Governors.

Winston Kan, BAdmin 81
International Excellence Award

Originally from Hong Kong, Winston Kan came to Concordia in 1978 as a student and then served as a representative on the University Senate and the Commerce and Administration Faculty Council. Kan co-founded Concordia alumni chapters in Beijing and Shanghai, and supports fundraising initiatives via the Concordia University Hong Kong Foundation Limited and the Campaign for Concordia: Next-Gen. Now as part of the Beijing chapter.

Eva Pomeroy
Alumni Award for Innovative Teaching

Eva Pomeroy is the current social-innovator-in-residence for Concordia’s Faculty of Arts and Science and lecturer in the Department of Applied Human Sciences. In 2016, she co-founded the Concordia U.lab Social Innovation Hub — an experimental learning space to engage in a social innovation process based on the U.lab framework, to create fertile ground for community-based social innovation.

Alain Tessier
Outstanding Staff Award

Alain Tessier joined Concordia in 2002 and was instrumental in setting up the physics laboratories when they moved from Sir George Williams Campus to Loyola Campus. In 2004, he joined Concordia’s Centre for Biological Applications of Mass Spectrometry in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry where he continues to support graduate students, researchers and members of the faculty with scientific investigations.

Antoine Labranche, BA 09
Young Alumnus of the Year

Former co-captain of the Stingers cross-country team, Antoine Labranche is a mountaineer,  military pilot, mentor, motivational speaker and social activist. He enlisted in the Reserve Force of the Canadian Army in 2006, while studying at Concordia. Labranche is currently serving in Mali with the United Nations, as part of an international effort to help bring stability to the country.

Brandon Montour
Outstanding Student Leader Award

A Kanien'kehá:ka of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, Brandon Montour is a political science student who aspires to become a lawyer. Inspired by his First Nations status, he hopes to advocate for change and address challenges faced by Indigenous people across Canada. Montour serves as a community project chairperson of the 61st Garnet Key Society.

Constantina Roumeliotis
Outstanding Student Leader Award

A student at Concordia's Gina Cody School of Engineering and Computer Science, Constantina Roumeliotis currently serves as president of the Engineering and Computer Science Association (ECA). Through the ECA, she helps students integrate into the university environment and provides them with tools and information they need to succeed.

Back to top

© Concordia University