Concordia University

http://www.concordia.ca/content/shared/en/news/main/items/2018/080/22/Ask-Our-Experts11.html

2018 Quebec Election

Ask our Experts
Posted on August 22, 2018

The 2018 Quebec election campaign officially kicked off August 23 with a sea of signs, billboards and advertising. The following Concordia University researchers are available to provide informed perspective on issues in the run-up to voting day, October 1.

We will be updating this list as new themes and points of debate take shape over the next five weeks.
 

Political and electoral strategy, rights of Indigenous peoples and racialized communities, immigration, Quebec nationalism, role of the state

Daniel Salée, Professor, Department of Political Science and School of Community and Public Affairs
Daniel.salee@concordia.ca
514-848-2424 ext.2578
*unavailable Sept 20 to 30

 

Political and electoral strategy, Quebec nationalism

Guy Lachapelle, Professor, Department of Political Science, Secretary General of the International Political Science Association (IPSA)
guy.lachapelle@concordia.ca
Tel: 514-848-2424 ext. 8704 
 

Political and electoral strategy, immigration policy

Mireille Paquet, Concordia University Research Chair on the New Politics of Immigration, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
Mireille.paquet@concordia.ca
Tel: 514-848-2424 ext. 2111
 

Immigration policy, integration and inclusion, migrant mobility

Chedly Belkhodja, Principal and Professor, School of Community and Public Affairs
chedly.belkhodja@concordia.ca
Tel: 514-848-2424 ext. 2576 
 

Governance, public finances, budgets and public entities

Michel Magnan, Stephen A. Jarislowsky Chair in Corporate Governance, Professor, Department of Accountancy, John Molson School of Business
michel.magnan@concordia.ca
Tel: 514-848-2424 ext. 4145
 

 

Religious values in a secular society, identity and religion, Islamophobia/fear of cultures outside Christianity and Judaism, influence of the religious right

André Gagné, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director, Department of Theological Studies; Digital Fellow, Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights Studies (MIGS)
andre.gagne@concordia.ca
Tel: 514-848-2424 ext. 2993
 

Financial climate, Quebec’s economic performance, debt, corruption, policy options for a stronger economy

Arvind Jain, Professor, Department of Finance, John Molson School of Business (JMSB)
Arvind.jain@concordia.ca
Tel: 514-848-2424 ext. 2939 

Moshe Lander, lecturer, Department of Economics
moshe.lander@concordia.ca
Cell: 780-237-0565


Seniors, community integration, social services

Shannon Hebblethwaite, Director, Agency and Ageing, Ageing+Communication+Technologies (ACT); Associate Professor, Department of Applied Human Sciences
Shannon.hebblethwaite@concordia.ca
Tel: 514-848-2424 ext. 2259

Kim Sawchuk, Director, Ageing+Communication+Technologies (ACT); Concordia University Research Chair, Mobile Media Studies; Professor, Department of Communication Studies
kim.sawchuk@concordia.ca
Tel: 514-848-2424 ext. 4327

Marketing, image-making and messaging

Harold Simpkins, Senior Lecturer, Department of Marketing, John Molson School of Business (JMSB)
Harold.simpkins@concordia.ca
Tel: 514-848-2424 ext. 2955

Back to top

© Concordia University