Concordia University


Dr. Akshay Kumar Rathore wins IEEE Myron Zucker Faculty-Student Award

Dr. Akshay-Kumar Rathore, Associate Professor in the department of Electrical and Computer Engineering was awarded one of two IEEE Myron Zucker Student-Faculty grants in the amount of $25,000 US.

His project title is "High Density Wide Band Gap Based Variable Frequency PowFactor Correction AC/DC Rectifier for More Electric Aircraft".


The Myron Zucker Student-Faculty Grant Program was established within the IEEE Foundation by the IEEE Awards Board in 1987. The Program resulted from Mr. Myron Zucker's desire to invest in the promotion of industry applications among electrical engineering students. An investigation by the Executive Board of the IEEE Industry Applications Society determined that the most effective way to facilitate this promotion was a faculty grant program which combined faculty and student support. To establish the program, Mr. Zucker contributed a considerable sum of money to the IEEE Foundation for an endowment. The funding is such that approximately two grants, not exceeding $25,000 each, can be awarded during each annual proposal cycle. This endowment is the program's only funding source; no other sources, including IEEE membership dues, are used.


Back to top

© Concordia University