Concordia University

In 1961, the Loyola Alumni Association and the administration of Loyola College, one of Concordia's founding institutions, agreed to create the Loyola Medal "as a permanent tribute to the outstanding leadership and achievement on the Canadian scene."

The first medal was awarded in 1963 to General Georges P. Vanier, former governor general of Canada and Loyola alumnus.

In 1989, it was agreed that the Loyola Medal would be established as an award by Concordia University and given every two years to an outstanding individual who meets the specified criteria:

  • Recipients shall be outstanding citizens as evidenced by their character and life philosophy and who have made a significant contribution to Canada. They shall embody the ideals and spirit which characterized Loyola College.
  • Recipients will be individuals whose receipt of the award will bring prestige to both the Concordia and Loyola names.

Nominations and selection

The selection process is private and discretionary. The committee makes its final recommendation to the Honorary Degree and Convocation Committee of the Concordia University Board of Governors. The Board, based upon a recommendation of the Honorary Degree and Convocation Committee, shall make the final decision of the recipient of the Loyola Medal.


  • 2014 - Clara Hughes
  • 2011 - Rev. John E. (Jack) O'Brien, S.J.
  • 2009 - Roberta Bondar
  • 2006 - Roméo Dallaire
  • 2004 - Dominic D'Alessandro
  • 2002 - Richard Renaud
  • 1999 - L. Jacques Ménard
  • 1997 - Oscar E Peterson
  • 1995 - Jean Béliveau
  • 1993 - Jean Vanier


Erin Mullins
Alumni Officer, Board and volunteer management
514-848-2424, ext. 3882

Back to top

© Concordia University