Skip to main content
LATEST INFORMATION ABOUT COVID-19

READ MORE

Conferences & lectures

"Not Yet" a gathering on futurity, the in-between, and the city

Date & time

Friday, September 25, 2020
10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Cost

This event is free

Contact

Shauna Janssen

Where

Online

not-yet-image

Since the arrival of the COVID-19 pandemic the experience of space and time have immeasurably shifted. Modes of communicating and interacting with others “in-between” real and virtual spaces has become the new norm. Social distancing measures ask us to consider more carefully and critically our spatial relations (and the privilege that comes with this), or the thresholds thereof, and the politics that come with (re)orienting and positioning ourselves in an inherently social world. In the context of COVID-19, how are the temporal and spatial affects of the “in-between” resonating with our research and creation practices in and with the city?

“not yet” is a curated platform for gathering and hosting performative works, manifestos/ statements/ narrations, and research creation projects that do not fit neatly into the current discourses and paradigms on urban futures, and from fields outside (but pertinent to) the study of the city and urbanism.

We draw inspiration from feminist scholar and philosopher Elizabeth Grosz, for whom “the space of the in-between is the locus for social, cultural, and natural transformations: it is not simply a convenient space for movements and realignments but in fact is the only place – the place around identities, between identities – where becoming, openness to futurity, outstrips the conversational impetus to retain cohesion and unity… the in-between defines the space of certain virtuality, a potential that always threatens to disrupt the operations of the identities that constitute it.” (2001)

Within the context of COVID-19 and the revolutionary work of Black Lives Matter, in what ways are ideas of futurity currently being circulated? In what ways can futurity ground us in the possible, point to unrealized desires and to that which we do not yet know, while living, working, creating, and socializing otherwise; in the virtual, in-between, and spaces of uncertainty?

Please join the Institute for Urban Futures for a day of conversations on the theme of “not yet: a gathering on futurity, the in-between, and the city.”

Participate in the discussion by registering for our Zoom webinar or watching live on our Facebook.

Have questions? Send them to info.4@concordia.ca


Program 

10h00-10h15                          Welcome by Shauna Janssen

10h15-11h45                          Geographies of Fear
Curated by Sadie Gilker / Moderated by Shauna Janssen
José Alavez                             jose.alavez@mail.concordia.ca
Sadie Gilker                            gabriel.gilker@gmail.com
Stefan Hodges                        hodges.stefan@gmail.com

12h15-13h45                          Est-ce que le show must go on?
Curated and moderated by Sylvain Lavoie
Camille Gascon                        camillegascon@hotmail.com
Sylvain Lavoie                          sylvain.lavoie@concordia.ca
Emmanuelle Sirois                    emmanuelle.sirois@gmail.com

14h15-15h45                          Virtuality as Critical Spatial Practice
Curated by Shauna Janssen / Moderated by Alex Tigchelaar
Sahar Alinezhad                       alinejadsahar90@gmail.com
Andrew Forster                        af@reluctant.ca
Amanda Gutiérrez                    cadadosis@gmail.com
Shauna Janssen                       shauna.janssen@concordia.ca

16h15-17h45                          “X” – making our way
Curated by Lisa Ndejuru / Moderated by Shauna Janssen
Ramona Benveniste               ramona.benveniste@gmail.com
Lisa Ndejuru                            lndejuru@gmail.com
Ursula Neuerburg-Denzer       ursula.neuerburg-denzer@concordia.ca


Panelists

José Alavez

Sahar Alinezhad

Ramona Benveniste

Andrew Forster

Camille Gascon

Sadie Gilker

Amanda Gutiérrez 

Stefan Hodges 

Shauna Janssen 

Sylvain Lavoie

Ursula Neuerburg-Denzer

Lisa Ndejuru

Eimear Rosato

Emmanuelle Sirois 


Back to top Back to top

© Concordia University