Skip to main content

Activating & customizing your Zoom account

Last updated: April 23, 2021, 2:18 p.m.

Zoom is a video conferencing tool that can­ be used in an academic setting to facilitate online learning. Faculty members can use it to provide lectures, tutorials and office hours. It is also helpful for online meetings, thesis defense, job interviews and guest speakers. All Concordia faculty and staff are entitled to an institutional account that provides advanced functionality. Refer to this page to find out to set up your institutional account and how to customize your account settings.





Customizing your Zoom settings

Some default settings in Zoom have been modified to provide a more secure and safe Zoom virtual classroom environment. You may need to modify your personal settings to regain access to some interactive features. To access to some of the interactive features of Zoom (e.g., whiteboard, breakout rooms, student screen-sharing, etc.) you will need to reactivate these settings by logging into your personal Zoom accounts and modifying the default settings.

  1. To access your personal settings go to https://concordia-ca.zoom.us/ and click Sign in.
  2. On the next page enter your netname and password and click Sign in.
  3. Select Settings from the left side navigation and you will now see a list of options under Meeting.
     

Scroll down the Meeting page to find the settings you would like to re-enable. 

Zoom Sign In

Note: Re-activating these features will make your Zoom sessions less secure so please be sure to monitor your course for possible disruptions.


File transfer

Enable this selection on to make the File Transfer feature available. This feature allows hosts and participants to send files through the in-meeting chat. The File Transfer feature has been disabled by default to prevent file sharing. Enabling this selection is not recommended and may lead to security risks and disruptions. 

Zoom How to Customise File Transfer

Screen sharing

Only the host (Faculty/TA) can share their screen with the participants (students). The Screen sharing feature has been disabled by default to prevent students from sharing their screens. Changing this selection to All Participants is not recommended and may lead to security risks and disruptions. 

Zoom How to Customise Screen Sharing

Note: Without enabling this setting, it is possible to allow screensharing within the meeting controls while in a meeting.


Annotation

Enabling this selection will allow participants (students) to use the annotation tool to add information to shared screens. The Annotation feature has been disabled by default to prevent participants from adding information to shared screens.It is recommended to only enable this feature if you plan to use annotations in your classes. Once enabled, it is possible to disable annotations in a meeting through the meeting menu.

Zoom How to Customise Annotation

Note: You may want to also enable the whiteboard to use annotation with the Whiteboard (below) feature. Otherwise, participants will only be able to annotate during screen share (i.e. on your powerpoint). 


Whiteboard

Enabling this selection will allow participants (students) to share whiteboard during a class meeting. The Whiteboard feature has been disabled by default to prevent participants from sharing whiteboard. It is only recommended to enable this feature if you plan to use this feature. 

Zoom How to Customise Whiteboard

Breakout rooms

Enabling the Breakout room feature will allow the host to split meeting participants into separate rooms. The Breakout room feature has been disabled by default to discourage the use of this feature for security risks and disruptions. Therefore, it is recommended to only enable this feature if you plan to use it.

Using Breakout rooms is a great way to increase engagement and promote active learning in live Zoom sessions. However, please note that ther are some security risks involved in using Breakout rooms, and so those faculty who choose to use Breakout rooms do so at their own risk. Faculty are reminded that if they do use Breakout rooms they must monitor these rooms at all times to make sure they are used only for appropriate course related activities.

Zoom How to Customise Breakout Room

Authentication

Be sure to disable the setting as shown below, Only authenticated users can join meetings from Web client. This will allow students to access course meetings without being prompted to sign-in in order to access their Zoom/Zoom meetings. This setting is turned off by default in the global settings but it is important to check to make sure it is disabled if students indicate that they are being prompted to login to the Zoom meetings. See Customising Your Zoom Settings for details on how to access your personal settings in Zoom.

How to disable Zoom Web client option

Back to top Back to top

© Concordia University