Skip to main content

Undergraduate students


Undergraduate students in the Department of Political Science can make appointments with an academic advisor and get information on awards & scholarships.


Registration information

  • To find out the exact date that you are allowed to register, please visit the “Enrollment Dates” section of your Student Centre.
  • No student will be allowed to see an advisor if you do not have a printed copy of your current unofficial transcript with you.
  • New students must attend a political science orientation session before meeting with an advisor one-on-one.

 

Academic advising

The Department of Political Science takes its orientation and advising responsibilities very seriously and your attendance at an orientation session is mandatory. All Political Science students require academic advising prior to registration.  

Appointments for academic advising  

Please email polisci.assist@concordia.ca to book an advising appointment. Appointments can also be made by telephone: 514-848-2424 extension 2105

Due to limited spaces, we request that you please cancel at least 48 hours before a scheduled appointment.

You will be asked to provide the following information:

  • Your name;
  • ID number;
  • The specific reason you wish to see an academic advisor.
  • Current program of study;
  • Telephone number;
  • E-mail address.

Please include this information in your email message or have this information on-hand when you call the department.  

When you have your appointment with an Academic Advisor, please follow these guidelines:

  • Email a current copy of your unofficial transcript. Students will not be seen without this. Instructions.
  • Bring any correspondence you have been sent about your current academic standing.
  • Arrive 15 minutes in advance of your appointment time.
  • If you can’t make your appointment for any reason, please contact the department by email or phone (ext 2105) at least 48 hours in advance to cancel so we may give your spot to someone else.

If you are late for your appointment, you will miss your turn.   

Undergraduate Program Director

Dr. Leander Schneider 
Undergraduate Program Director
Advising for Honours & Exchange students (incoming and outgoing)     
Email: polisci.UPD@concordia.ca 
Office: H 1255-07



 

 

 

Undergraduate Academic Advising Times 

By phone call or Zoom session from the Advisor to you:

JUNE Dates:

Monday June 7: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday June 8: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday June 9: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday June 10: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday June 11: 10:00 to 11:30am & No afternoon hours

Monday June 14: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday June 15: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday June 16: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday June 17: 10:00 to 11:30am & No afternoon hours
Friday June 18: 10:00 to 11:00am & No afternoon hours

Monday June 21: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday June 22: 10:30am to12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday June 23: 10:30am to 12:00pm & No afternoon hours
Thursday June 24: University is closed
Friday June 25: University is Closed

Monday June 28: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday June 29: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday June 30: 10:30am to 12:00 pm & 4:30 to 6:00 pm

JULY Dates:

Monday July 5: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday July 6: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday July 7: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday July 8: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday July 9: 10:00 to 11:30am

Monday July 12: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday July 13: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday July 14: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday July 15: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday July 16: 10:00 to 11:30am

Monday July 19: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday July 20: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday July 21: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday July 22: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday July 23: 10:00 to 11:30am

Monday July 26: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday July 27: 10:30 am to 12:00 pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday July 28: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday July 29: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday July 30: 10:00 am to 11:30 am

 

A printed copy of your unofficial transcript must be brought to all appointments. Students without their unofficial transcripts cannot be seen.  

Please check this website often for updates.

Our department uses a single grading system in order to convert percentages to letter grades. Listed below are the guidelines for grading utilized by the Department of Political Science.

90-100 %                             
A+ 4.30 
Outstanding
85-89 % A 4.00
Outstanding
80-84 %
A-
3.70 Outstanding
77-79 %  
B+ 3.30 
Very good
73-76 % B 3.00
Very good
70-72 %
B- 2.70
Very good
67-69 % C+ 2.30 Satisfactory
63-66 % C 2.00 Satisfactory
60-62 % C-
1.70 Satisfactory
57-59 % D+ 1.30 Marginal pass
53-56 %
D 1.00
Marginal pass
50-52 % D- 0.70
Marginal pass
0 % FNS
0.00
Failure
0 % NR 0.00 Grade Not Reported
An "F" corresponds to less than 50.

Passing courses required to fulfill curriculum requirements is not sufficient to graduate as there is also an academic performance requirement (Grade Point Average) in most degree programmes. See the pertinent section of the Faculty of Arts and Science entry (Section 31) in the Undergraduate Calendar for complete details.

Note:  Final grades are subject to Department and Faculty approval. 

Back to top Back to top

© Concordia University