Skip to main content

Undergraduate students

Academic advising during COVID-19

All in-person advising and information sessions are now being offered remotely. Learn more


Undergraduate students in the Department of Political Science can make appointments with an academic advisor and get information on awards & scholarships.


Registration information

  • To find out the exact date that you are allowed to register, please visit the “Enrollment Dates” section of your Student Centre.
  • No student will be allowed to see an advisor if you do not have a printed copy of your current unofficial transcript with you.
  • New students must attend a political science orientation session before meeting with an advisor one-on-one.

 

Academic advising

The Department of Political Science takes its orientation and advising responsibilities very seriously and your attendance at an orientation session is mandatory. All Political Science students require academic advising prior to registration.  

Appointments for academic advising  

Please email polisci.assist@concordia.ca to book an advising appointment. Appointments can also be made by telephone: 514-848-2424 extension 2105
  

You will be asked to provide the following information:

  • Your name;
  • ID number;
  • The specific reason you wish to see an academic advisor.
  • Current program of study;
  • Telephone number;
  • E-mail address.

Please include this information in your email message or have this information on-hand when you call the department.  

When you have your appointment with an Academic Advisor, please follow these guidelines:

  • Email a current copy of your unofficial transcript. Students will not be seen without this. Instructions.
  • Bring any correspondence you have been sent about your current academic standing.
  • Arrive 15 minutes in advance of your appointment time.
  • If you can’t make your appointment for any reason, please contact the department by email or phone (ext. 2105) to cancel so we may give your spot to someone else.

If you are late for your appointment, you will miss your turn.   

Undergraduate Program Director

Dr. Leander Schneider 
Undergraduate Program Director
Advising for Honours & Exchange students (incoming and outgoing)     
Email: polisci.UPD@concordia.ca 
Office: H 1255-07



 

 

 

Undergraduate Academic Advising Times 

By phone call or Zoom session from the Advisor to you:

November Hours:

Monday Nov 23: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday Nov 24: No morning hours & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday Nov 25: No morning hours & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday Nov 26: 10:00 to 11:30am & No afternoon hours
Friday Nov 27: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm

Monday Nov 30: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm

December Hours:

Tuesday Dec 1: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday Dec 2: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday Dec 3: 10:00 to 11:30am & No afternoon hours
Friday Dec 4: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm

Monday Dec 7: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday Dec 8: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday Dec 9: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday Dec 10: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday Dec 11: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm

Monday Dec 14: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday Dec 15: No morning hours & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday Dec 16: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday Dec 17: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday Dec 18: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm

Monday Dec 21: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday Dec 22: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday Dec 23: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday Dec 24: University Closed until Jan 11, 2021


January Hours:

Monday Jan 11: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday Jan 12: 10:30am to12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday Jan 13: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday Jan 14: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday Jan 15: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm

Monday Jan 18: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday Jan 19: No morning hours & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday Jan 20: 10:30am to12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday Jan 21: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday Jan 22: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm

Monday Jan 25: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Tuesday Jan 26: No morning hours & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Wednesday Jan 27: 10:30am to 12:00pm & 4:30 to 6:00pm
Thursday Jan 28: 10:00 to 11:30am & 1:00 to 2:30pm
Friday Jan 29: 10:00 to 11:30 am & 1:00 to 2:30pm

 

 

A printed copy of your unofficial transcript must be brought to all appointments. Students without their unofficial transcripts cannot be seen.  

Please check this website often for updates.

Our department uses a single grading system in order to convert percentages to letter grades. Listed below are the guidelines for grading utilized by the Department of Political Science.

90-100 %                             
A+ 4.30 
Outstanding
85-89 % A 4.00
Outstanding
80-84 %
A-
3.70 Outstanding
77-79 %  
B+ 3.30 
Very good
73-76 % B 3.00
Very good
70-72 %
B- 2.70
Very good
67-69 % C+ 2.30 Satisfactory
63-66 % C 2.00 Satisfactory
60-62 % C-
1.70 Satisfactory
57-59 % D+ 1.30 Marginal pass
53-56 %
D 1.00
Marginal pass
50-52 % D- 0.70
Marginal pass
0 % FNS
0.00
Failure
0 % NR 0.00 Grade Not Reported
An "F" corresponds to less than 50.

Passing courses required to fulfill curriculum requirements is not sufficient to graduate as there is also an academic performance requirement (Grade Point Average) in most degree programmes. See the pertinent section of the Faculty of Arts and Science entry (Section 31) in the Undergraduate Calendar for complete details.

Note:  Final grades are subject to Department and Faculty approval. 

Back to top Back to top

© Concordia University