Concordia University

Awards of distinction

In recognition of outstanding contributions to the world of business and to the community


The Awards of Distinction is an initiative that was put forward by the late Honorable Pierre Sévigny P.C., O.C., in 1987, to publicly honour business excellence. It has since evolved into an annual awards ceremony that is regularly attended by hundreds of guests from the business and university community.

The Awards Committee comprises representatives from JMSB Administration, three full-time Faculty members, one undergraduate student, one graduate student and one alumni representative.

The following criteria are used in considering candidates:

  1. Notable business accomplishment
  2. Affiliation or service to Concordia University
  3. Community Service
  4. Lifetime professional achievement

Past Recipients

2010 - Mr. Randall Kelly (President, Formula Growth Ltd), Ms. Anna Martini (President, Groupe Dynamite Inc.)

2008 - 
To celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the Awards of Distinction, JMSB honoured the 4 Financial Pillars of Quebec; Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, Desjardins Group, Industrial Alliance and National bank Financial Group. 

Industrial Alliance (represented by John LeBoutillier, Chairman of the Board), National bank Financial Group (represented by Louis Vachon, President and CEO), Desjardins Group (represented by Alumni Monique Leroux, Chair of the Board, President and CEO), and Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (represented by Pierre Brunet, Chairman of the Board at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec and Chairman of the Board Montréal International).

2006 - Mr. J. Roy Firth, (Executive Vice President - Individual Wealth Management, Manulife Financial), Ms. Alice Keung, (Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, National Bank of Canada), Mr. Irv Teitelbaum, (Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, La Senza)

 – Ms. Emilia Di Raddo (President, Le Château), Mr. Jean-Yves Monette (President and CEO, Van Houtte Ltd.), Mr. Alfred T. Spain (Senior Vice President Operations, JetBlue Airways Corporation)

 – Mr. Marc DeSerres (President, Omer DeSerres), Mr. Frank Di Tomaso (Partner, Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton), Ms. Melanie Kau (President, Mobilia), Mr. Peter McAuslan (Founder, President & CEO, McAuslan Brewing Company)

 – The Honourable Charles Lapointe, C.P. (President & CEO, Tourisme Montreal), Ms. Michèle Thibodeau-DeGuire (President & Executive Director, Centraide of Greater Montreal), Mr. Sylvain Toutant (President & CEO, Les Boutiques San Francisco)

 – Ms. Helen Kearns (President, Nasdaq Canada), Mr. Morton A. Cohen (President & CEO, Clarion Capital Corp), Mr. James C. Cherry (President & CEO, Aéroports de Montréal), Ms. Hilary Radley (Designer & CEO, Hilary Radley Design Studio)

 – Mrs. Christiane Germain (President, Groupe Germain), Mr. Kenneth Woods (President, Coolwoods Investments Ltd., Director, CICA Accounting Standards Board), Dr. Sherry Cooper (Senior Vice President & Chief Economist, BMO Nesbitt Burns), Mr. Paul Delage Roberge (President, Director, Les Boutiques San Francisco)

 – Mr. Yvan Allaire (Executive Vice-President, Bombardier Inc), Ms. Heather Reisman (President & CEO, Indigo Books & Music Inc), Ms. Suzanne B. Labarge (Vice-Chairman & Chief Risk Officer, Royal Bank of Canada), Mr. Brian Neysmith (Managing Director, Standard & Poor's CBRS)

 – Mr. Serge Savard (Partner, Thibault, Messier, Savard), Mr. Brian Steck (Retired Vice-Chairman, Bank of Montreal), Ms. Sylvia Vogel (CEO, Canderm Pharma Inc.) Mr. Norman Wale (Vice-President, Corporate Research and Development, Canadian Pacific Ltd - Retired)

– Mr. Placide Poulin (Chairman of the Board & CEO, MAAX Inc), The Honourable Judith A. Erola, P.C. (President, Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association of Canada), Mr. Louis A. Tanguay (Co-Vice Chairman of the Board of RONA Inc), Mr. Ronald Oberlander (Operating Chairman, Abitibi Consolidated)

 – Mr. Alain Benedetti (Regional Managing Partner, Ernst & Young), Ms. Renée Dupuis Angers (Owner, Dupuis Frères), Mr. Aldo Bensadoun (President & CEO, Aldo Shoes), Mr. David Goldman (President & CEO, Noranda Metallurgy Inc), Mr. Roger Yeun.

 – Dr. Francesco Bellini (CEO, BioChem Pharma), Ms. Micheline Charest (CEO, CINAR Films Inc), Mr. Robert de Fougerolles (Ex-President, Canada Corporate), Mr. André Desmarais (President & COO, Power Corporation)

 – Mr. Robert Chevrier (CEO, Westburne Inc.), Ms. Donna Soble Kaufman (Partner, Stikeman Elliott), Mr. Sol Polachek (Chairman, Magil Constructio), Mr. Karel Velan (Chairman, Velan Inc.)

 – Ms. Jane Lawson (Sr. Vice-President & Secretary, Royal Bank of Canada), Mr. Pierre H. Lessard (CEO, Metro Richelieu), Mr. Humberto Santos (CEO, Dejardins Laurentian Financial Corp), Mr. Raymond Wong (Chairman, Wing Wong Food)

 – Mr. Harold Greenberg (CEO, Astral Communications Inc), Ms. Henriette Lanctôt (President, Association des femmes d’affaires du Québec), Mr. L. Jacques Ménard (Chairman, Hydro-Quebec), Mr. Emanuele Saputo (CEO, Saputo Group)

 – Mr. Philippe De Gaspé Beaubien (CEO, Telemedia), Mr. A. Frank Knowles (Ex-President, Power Corporate), Ms. Madeleine St-Jacques (President, Young & Rubicam Ltee), Mr. Sid Stevens (Executive Director, Sun Youth)

 – Ms. Christina Gold (President, Avon Canada), Mr. Bertin Nadeau (Ex-Chairman, Provigo Inc.), Mr. Jonathan Wener (Chairman, Canderel Inc.)

 – Mr. David M. Culver (Ex-CEO, Alcan Aluminium), Mr. Leonard Ellen (Ex-Chairman, Central Guaranty), Ms. Jeannine Guillevin-Wood (Ex-CEO, Guillevin International), Mr. Serge Saucier (CEO, Raymond Chabot Martin)

 – Mr. Arthur P. Earle (Chairman, Aeroports de Montreal), Mr. J. Stuart Hermon (Vice-Chairman, Kruger Inc.), Mr. Jean Henri Picard (The Jean H. Picard Foundation), Mr. Dominic J. Taddeo (President, Port de Montreal)

 – Mr. Stephen Jarislowsky (Chairman & CEO, Jarislowsky Fraser), Mr. Roger Lachapelle (Ex-President, Corby Distilleries), Mr. Eric Molson (Chairman, Molson Companies), Mr. Eugene Reisman (CEO, First Quebec Inc.), Ms. Louise Roy (Ex-Chair, MUCTC)

Back to top

© Concordia University