Skip to main content


Concerts, Arts & culture

Virtuosos Ensembles from Hungary

Date & time

Friday, November 15, 2019
7 p.m. – 9 p.m.


This event is free


Oscar Peterson Concert Hall
7141 Sherbrooke W.

Wheelchair accessible


Virtuosos Ensemble - The Future of Classical Music - Outstanding young musicians from the Hungarian classical music talent show


VIRTUOSOS, the world’s first classical music TV competition started in 2014, broadcasted by the Hungarian Television. As quality music education is available in Hungary from kindergarten to professional music academies, hundreds of musicians applied to the show. The competition has become so popular that some of the episodes were watched by as much as 10% of the country’s population. The judge panel consisting of renowned, professional musicians discovered dozens of brilliant talents in every season. The main goal is to keep these talents in the music industry and give further opportunity of professional development, performing and playing music together.

Virtuosos Ensemble consists of outstanding talents discovered in the previous 5 seasons of the successful show. The orchestra’s aim is to put famous classical music into an unusual and interesting transliteration to hold high quality, yet entertaining live performances. Leader of Virtuosos Ensemble is the 25 years old Apor Szüts, an excellent pianist, composer and conductor. The compositions on the Ensemble’s repertoire are his adaptations of the ensemble’s youthful, innovative spirit.

The Virtuosos Ensemble wants to convey a high culture of classical music for future generations in a modern form.

Zoltán Bácsy-Schwartz (violin)

Bence Bánkövi (cello)

Zsuzsanna Csabay (flute)

Kata Koppán (viola)

Vanessza Korb (violin)

Leonóra Liszkay (flute)

Ali Daniel Lugosi (clarinet)

Jenő Puporka (double bass)

Apor Szüts (piano)

Gyula Várady (violin)


Zoltán Kodály: Intermezzo from the Folk Opera „Háry János”

Camille Saint-Saëns: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso

Antonin Dvorak: Slavonic Dance Op 46. No.8

Zoltán Kodály: Adagio

Ian Clarke: Hypnosis

Adolf Schreiner: „Immer kleiner...”

Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major – 3rd movement


Johannes Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 1.

J. S. Bach: Badinerie from the Orchestral Suite b-minor

Béla Bartók: Rumanian Folk Dances

Antonin Dvorak: Silent Woods

Franz Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 11.

Ernest Bloch: Nigun

Leonard Bernstein: Mambo from the „West Side Story”

Apor Szüts: Tango á la „Grotesque”

Béla Kovács: After you, Mr. Gershwin


Back to top Back to top

© Concordia University