Concordia University

http://www.concordia.ca/content/concordia/en/academics/undergraduate/calendar/current/sec11.html

Academic Calendar

Section 11

The Academic Calendar is subject to change. Updated information will be available from the Birks Student Service Centre. For dates pertaining to registration and non‑standard summer sessions, please consult the 2016‑17 Term Dates and Deadlines webpage concordia.ca/students/registration/term-dates-deadlines, the Course Registration webpage or visit the Birks Student Service Centre. For financial deadlines see concordia.ca/admissions/tuition-fees.
Deadlines falling on weekends* or holidays will be extended to the next working day.
*Except for academic withdrawal deadlines.

Date change: Please note that the holiday closure was changed from [December 22, 2016 – January 4, 2017] to [December 24, 2016 – January 6, 2017]. The Aide financière aux études (AFE) deadlines have also been added for the fall 2016 and winter 2017 terms. — May 16, 2016


Regular Session 2016-17 and Summer Session 2016


2016

MARCH
Tuesday, March 1 Last day to apply for admission to undergraduate programs — Full-time regular session 2016-17.
Tuesday, March 1 Last day to apply for degree transfer — Fall term 2016 (for currently registered students to transfer into a different degree in any Faculty).
Thursday, March 10 Registration start date for students with 0 to 24 credits to completion and for co-op students — Summer session 2016.
Friday, March 11 Registration start date for students with 25 to 48 credits to completion — Summer session 2016.
Sunday, March 13 Last day for academic withdrawal from two-term and winter-term courses.
Monday, March 14 Registration start date for students with 49 to 72 credits to completion — Summer session 2016.
Tuesday, March 15 Registration start date for students with 73 and more credits to completion — Summer session 2016.
Wednesday, March 16 Registration start date for newly admitted undergraduate students — Summer session 2016.
Thursday, March 17 Registration start date for Visiting students, and for returning and newly authorized Independent students — Summer session 2016.
Wednesday, March 23 Registration start date for students with 0 to 9 credits to completion and for co-op students — Regular session 2016-17.
Thursday, March 24 Registration start date for students with 10 to 21 credits to completion — Regular session 2016-17.
Friday, March 25 University closed (see April 13, 2016).
Saturday, March 26 University closed (see April 13, 2016).
Sunday, March 27 University closed.
Monday, March 28 University closed (see April 14, 2016).
Tuesday, March 29 Registration start date for students with 22 to 33 credits to completion — Regular session 2016-17.
Wednesday, March 30 Registration start date for students with 34 to 42 credits to completion — Regular session 2016-17.
Thursday, March 31 Registration start date for students with 43 to 54 credits to completion — Regular session 2016-17.
 
APRIL
Friday, April 1 Last day to apply for Quebec resident status for winter term 2016.
Friday, April 1 Registration start date for students with 55 to 63 credits to completion — Regular session 2016-17.
Monday, April 4 Registration start date for students with 64 to 72 credits to completion — Regular session 2016-17.
Tuesday, April 5 Registration start date for students with 73 to 87 credits to completion — Regular session 2016-17.
Tuesday, April 5 Last day for instructor-scheduled tests or examinations.
Wednesday, April 6 Registration start date for students with 88 and more credits to completion — Regular session 2016-17.
Tuesday, April 12 Last day of classes — Fall/winter and winter terms 2015-16.
Wednesday, April 13 Make-up day for classes scheduled on March 25 and 26.
Thursday, April 14 Make-up day for classes scheduled on March 28.
Friday, April 15 Examinations begin.
Monday, April 18 Registration start date for Visiting students and for newly admitted undergraduate students — Regular session 2016-17. Students admitted for September 2016 should register for winter-term courses at the same time as fall-term courses.
 
MAY
Sunday, May 1 Examinations end.
Monday, May 2 Classes begin — First-term and two-term summer session courses.
Monday, May 9 Last day to add first-term and two-term summer session courses.
Monday, May 9 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund from first-term and two-term summer session courses.
Sunday, May 15 Last day to apply for late completion of courses ending in April 2016.
Sunday, May 15 Last day to apply for DEF (Deferred) or MED (Medical) notation for courses ending in April 2016.
Monday, May 23 Journée nationale des patriotes (Quebec), Victoria Day (elsewhere in Canada) — University closed.
Monday, May 30 Last day for academic withdrawal from first-term summer session courses.
Monday, May 30 Last day for submission of late-completion work for courses ending in April 2016 (application deadline May 15).
 
JUNE
T.B.A. Spring convocations.
Wednesday, June 15 Last day to apply for supplemental examinations for courses taken during the regular session 2015-16.
Wednesday, June 15 Last day to apply for re-evaluation of courses ending in April 2016.
Wednesday, June 15 Last day of classes — First-term summer session.
Thursday, June 16 Examinations begin — First-term summer session finals.
Thursday, June 16 Mid-term break for two-term summer session begins.
Wednesday, June 22 Examinations end — First-term summer session finals.
Thursday, June 23 Mid-term break for two-term summer session ends.
Friday, June 24 Fête nationale — University closed.
Monday, June 27 Classes begin — Second-term summer session and special three- or six-week summer session.
 
JULY
Friday, July 1 Canada Day — University closed.
Monday, July 4 Last day to add second-term summer session courses and first-term special three- or six-week summer session courses.
Monday, July 4 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund from second-term summer session and first-term special three- or six-week summer session courses.
Thursday July 7 Last day for academic withdrawal from two-term summer session courses.
Friday, July 8 Last day for academic withdrawal from first-term special three-week summer session courses.
Friday, July 15 Last day to apply for fall 2016 graduation.
Monday, July 18 Last day of classes — First-term special three-week summer session.
Tuesday, July 19 Classes begin — Second-term special three-week summer session.
Thursday, July 21 Last day for academic withdrawal from second-term and special six-week summer session courses.
Tuesday, July 26 Last day to register for second-term special three-week summer session courses.
Tuesday, July 26 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund from second-term special three-week summer session courses.
Friday, July 29 Last day for academic withdrawal from second-term special three-week summer session courses.
 
AUGUST
Monday, August 1 Last day to apply for Quebec resident status for summer session 2016.
Monday, August 1 Registration start date for returning and newly authorized Independent students — Fall 2016 term.
Monday, August 8 Last day of classes — Special six-week and second-term special three-week summer session courses.
Tuesday, August 9 Last day of classes — Two-term and second-term summer session courses.
Wednesday, August 10 Make-up day for classes scheduled Thursday only during two-term summer session.
Thursday, August 11 Examinations begin — Two-term and second-term summer session finals.
Wednesday, August 17 Examinations end — Two-term and second-term summer session finals.
Thursday, August 18 Replacement and supplemental examinations begin — Regular session 2015-16.
Tuesday, August 23 Replacement and supplemental examinations end — Regular session 2015-16.
Wednesday, August 31 Last day to apply for DEF (Deferred) or MED (Medical) notation for courses taken during the summer session 2016.
 
SEPTEMBER
Thursday, September 1 Last day to apply for late completion of courses taken during the summer session 2016.
Monday, September 5 Labour Day — University closed.
Tuesday, September 6 Classes begin — Fall and fall/winter terms 2016-17.
Monday, September 12 Registration start date for newly admitted students — Winter 2017 term. New students admitted for winter 2017 can register any time after admission and advising criteria have been satisfied.
Thursday, September 15 Last day for submission of late-completion work for summer session 2016 courses (application deadline September 1).
Friday, September 16 Last day to apply for supplemental examinations for courses taken during the summer session 2016.
Monday, September 19 Last day to add fall-term and two-term courses.
Monday, September 19 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund from fall-term and two-term courses.
 
OCTOBER
Saturday, October 1 Last day to apply for re-evaluation of courses taken during the summer session 2016.
Saturday, October 1 Replacement and supplemental examinations — Summer session 2016 courses.
Monday, October 10 Thanksgiving Day — University closed (see December 6, 2016).
 
NOVEMBER
T.B.A. Fall convocations.
Tuesday, November 1 Last day to apply for admission to undergraduate programs — Winter term 2017.
Tuesday, November 1 Last day to apply for degree transfer — Winter term 2017 (for currently registered students to transfer into the Faculty of Arts and Science or the Faculty of Engineering and Computer Science).
Sunday, November 6 Last day for academic withdrawal from fall-term courses.
Monday, November 28 Last day for instructor-scheduled tests or examinations.
Monday, November 28 Registration start date for newly authorized Independent students — Winter 2017 term.
 
DECEMBER
Thursday, December 1 Last day to apply for Quebec resident status for fall term 2016.
Monday, December 5 Last day of classes — Fall term.
Tuesday, December 6 Make-up day for classes scheduled on Monday, October 10.
Wednesday, December 7 Examinations begin.
Wednesday, December 21 Examinations end.
Wednesday, December 21 Aide financière aux études (AFE) end of funding for fall term.
Saturday, December 24 to Friday, January 6 Holiday period — University closed.

2017

JANUARY
Monday, January 9 Classes begin — Winter term 2017.
Monday, January 9 Classes resume — Fall/winter term 2016-17.
Sunday, January 15 Last day to apply for spring 2017 graduation.
Sunday, January 15 Last day to apply for DEF (Deferred) or MED (Medical) notation for courses ending in December 2016.
Sunday, January 22 Last day to add winter-term courses.
Sunday, January 22 Deadline for withdrawal with tuition refund from winter-term courses
 
FEBRUARY
Wednesday, February 1 Last day to apply for supplemental examinations for courses ending in December 2016 (graduating students only).
Wednesday, February 1 Last day to apply for re-evaluation of courses ending in December 2016.
Wednesday, February 1 Last day to apply for late completion of courses ending in December 2016.
Wednesday, February 15 Last day for submission of late-completion work for courses ending in December 2016 (application deadline February 1).
Monday, February 20 Mid-term break begins.
Monday, February 20 Replacement examinations begin.
Monday, February 20 Supplemental examinations begin for courses ending in December 2016 (graduating students only)
Thursday, February 23 Replacement and supplemental examinations end.
Friday, February 24 President’s Holiday — University closed.
Sunday, February 26 Mid-term break ends.
 
MARCH
Wednesday, March 1 Last day to apply for admission to undergraduate programs — Full-time regular session 2017-18.
Wednesday, March 1 Last day to apply for degree transfer — Fall term 2017 (for currently registered students to transfer into a different degree in any Faculty).
Sunday, March 19 Last day for academic withdrawal from two-term and winter-term courses.
 
APRIL
Saturday, April 1 Last day to apply for Quebec resident status for winter term 2017.
Thursday, April 6 Last day for instructor-scheduled tests or examinations.
Thursday, April 13 Last day of classes — Fall/winter and winter terms 2016-17.
Friday, April 14 University closed (see April 18, 2017).
Saturday, April 15 University closed (see April 18, 2017).
Sunday, April 16 University closed.
Monday, April 17 University closed.
Tuesday, April 18 Make-up day for classes scheduled on April 14 and 15.
Wednesday, April 19 Examinations begin.
Friday, April 28 Aide financière aux études (AFE) end of funding for winter term.
 
MAY
Tuesday, May 2 Examinations end.
Monday, May 15 Last day to apply for late completion of courses ending in April 2017.
Monday, May 15 Last day to apply for DEF (Deferred) or MED (Medical) notation for courses ending in April 2017.
Monday, May 22 Journée nationale des patriotes (Quebec), Victoria Day (elsewhere in Canada) — University closed.
Tuesday, May 30 Last day for submission of late-completion work for courses ending in April 2017 (application deadline May 15).
 
JUNE
T.B.A. Spring convocations.
Thursday, June 15 Last day to apply for supplemental examinations for courses taken during the regular session 2016-17.
Thursday, June 15 Last day to apply for re-evaluation of courses ending in April 2017.
Back to top

© Concordia University