Concordia University

https://www.concordia.ca/content/concordia/en/academics/co-op/programs/professional-experience.html

Professional Experience (PREX)

ENCS Electrical and Computer Engineering Labs - WEB

Professional Experience is for Chemistry, Biochemistry, Computation Arts and Design, Economics, Journalism and Physics students.

Our alternative options function like our regular Co-op programs with two main exceptions:

  • They allow more flexibility with 1 work term instead of 3
  • They have a different application process

Like Co-op, these work terms will give you a competitive edge when you join the workforce. As a student you will:


A Professional Experience (PREX) option is available in following undergraduate programs in the Faculty of Fine Arts and the Faculty of Arts and Science:

-Chemistry-Biochemistry

-Computation Arts

-Design

-Economics

-Journalism

-Physics

Work terms are paid, full-time internships related to your field of study. They last 12 to 17 weeks and take place during the Summer (some exception may apply)

The PREX option is based on the employer demand. Depending on the job market, some internships could be done at a defferent time.

Undergraduate academic requirements & application process

You are eligible for the Professional Experience (PREX) option if you:

  • Are enrolled as a full-time undergraduate student
  •  Have and maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of:
  • 2.8 for Biochemistry
  • 3.0 for Biology
  • 2.5 For Design and Computation Arts
  • 2.7 for Economics
  • 2.8 for Journalism
  • 2.7 for Physics
  • Must have completed a minimum of 30 credits with a minimum of 45 credits remaining in your degree.
  • Are proficient in either English or French. Students who are weak in French must be willing to do work terms outside of the province of Quebec.

Application date is September 30th. Should you meet the requirements, you will be contacted by your respective department to apply.


For more information, please contact the Program Coordinator or Academic Director for your respective program:

Program Name Title Email

Computation and Design Arts

Economics

Journalism

Rachel Bureau Program Coordinator

rachel.bureau@concordia.ca

 

Physics

Chemistry

Biochemistry

Biology

Lucia Plescia Program Coordinator lucia.plescia@concordia.ca
       

Journalism

Computation Arts and Design

Economics

Andrea Hunter

Pippin Barr  

Christian Sigouin

Academic Directors

andrea.hunter@concordia.ca

pippin.barr@concordia.ca

christian.sigouin@concordia.ca

Physics

Chemistry- Biochemistry

Biology

Alexandre Champagne

Xavier Ottenwaelder

Madoka Gray-Mitsumune

Academic Directors

a.champagne@concordia.ca

 

dr.x@concordia.ca

 

madoka.gray-mitsumune@concordia.ca

Back to top

© Concordia University